Eat, Drink, and Enjoy Your Work

I said I would never work in the food service industry. It’s too dirty, smelly, greasy. Too low-class. I wanted to dress formally for a desk job, interacting with people everyday but never having to break a sweat.

I began working at Einstein Bros. Bagels this week as a student employee on my university’s campus. I then realized I have a pride problem.

I was embarrassed to wear the uniform and be seen making food for others. I think I had always put myself above fast-food workers without realizing it, and I am not proud to admit it.

I didn’t think I would like working at Einstein’s. I knew my feet would hurt, I knew I would mess up, and I knew I was going to get a little more messy than working a desk job. I only applied for the job to earn more money. It seems college students never have enough of that.

“A person can do nothing better than to eat and drink and find satisfaction in their own toil. This too, I see, is from the hand of God, for without him, who can eat or find enjoyment?” Ecclesiastes 2:24-25

Ecclesiastes has become one of my favorite books this week. I decided this semester to dedicate an hour of my morning to myself: wake up, study the Bible, and eat breakfast. I decided to better myself and my relationship with God by prioritizing my time, and it’s working.

I have found more enjoyment in my life since starting each morning by listening to God’s Word and praising Him for what He has done. I have found joy in both my school work and at Einstein’s. I have been flooded with an odd peace amidst my 8 a.m. – 11 p.m. non-stop days.

Since working my new food service job, I have grown to appreciate the employees and the work done by everyone who works at some sort of fast food restaurant. I am humbled by my co-workers and admire their willingness to put on a dirty apron and baseball cap. I enjoy my job. I look forward to attending the register, making sandwich bagels for others and handing people their order.

I enjoy serving others, and I think this is a principle Jesus wanted me to learn. Even when I splash myself in the face washing dishes or knock over a cart of ice cream in the walk-in freezer, I enjoy my job.

I have grown to enjoy the whimsical sayings on the back of the Einstein’s employee T-shirts and the feel of a baseball cap around my head. I find it fun to wipe cream cheese on my apron and see how messy it can get. I laugh when I knock over a cart of ice cream.

King Solomon said there is nothing better than to eat, drink, and enjoy your work, which is a gift from God. It’s kind of funny how my job is associated with both eating and drinking, and enjoyment, too.

image1
Happiness is a warm bagel and good friendship.
One Comment Add yours

  1. Paul Distefano says:

    Great story …very proud of you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

