Simple Saturdays

Saturdays are my favorite day of the week.

There is no limit to how long I sleep. There is no limit to how much time I spend in my morning Jesus-and-coffee ritual. There is no rule for how long I can wear my PJs.

Saturdays are simple, and I live for them.

In the caffeine-run college life, there is no time to be simple. My “me time” is planned around my classes and work schedule, let alone social club events and church functions.

We live such fast-paced lives, and it seems as if I forget how simple life could be.

Televangelist Joyce Meyer once noted that we all have the same amount of time, we just choose different ways to use it. Sometimes I wish I chose a different way of using my time, and hopefully one day I will feel like I am able to use it differently.

As a college student, I feel like I have to work multiple jobs in order to pay for food, schoolbooks, club fees, and other random expenses that seem to constantly pop up like a “Whack-A-Mole” game.

As a college student, I feel like I constantly have to be working on extra projects or participating in several extracurricular activities in order to make myself marketable to possible employers.

As a college student, I feel like I’m bound to not have any time to relax or drink anything else besides coffee.

Sometimes, as a college student, I feel just plain suffocated.

Saturdays remind me how to breathe. Saturdays remind me how blessed I am to be alive, healthy, and loved by friends and family.

I think we all need more simple Saturdays in our lives.

Leave a Reply

